Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Coffee, Tea, or Bee? New Rug Mug Series!


 

Our latest Woolin Rouge Pattern Series is called Coffee, Tea, or Bee? It is a series of 5 different flowers on mug rugs. A small wall hanging with all 5 of the flowers will be next. We want to have the kit packaged in mugs with the picture of the flower block printed on them. Our question is weather you would want the kit without the mug or with the matching mug? The difference would be about $10-$15 more in cost, but you could have your adorable matching mug to drink you favorite beverage from while using your mug rug. You could even have the whole series for you and all your friends while sewing, hooking, or just having a great time talking.
 
Just to wet your appetite even more is one more sneak peek.
Let us know what you think. 

Tuesday, August 13, 2013

Prairie Rose Rug School

Oh my, what an amazing time I had at Prairie Rose Rug School. Patty Tyrrell and I weren't sure what to expect at our first rug school, but we knew we would have fun. I have to say that as few as our expectations were, the week far exceeded them.

Our teacher was Michele Wise.  I said the first morning that if I never learned anything the rest of the week I had already learned more than I ever thought I would. She is absolutely the most amazing teacher, and that's not just coming from a first timer at rug school, it came from women who have gone to schools and camps for years. She taught us several different stitches, finishing techniques, color theory, and the list goes on. Michele was not only informative, she was a blast. If I ever get a chance to take a class from her again I will, not just because she's such a great teacher, but because I just plain enjoyed her company.
Check out the finishing technique on Michele's rug.


So many techniques in this rug of Michele's.
 
I can't talk about the school without talking about Suzi Jones, our Director. She is kind, organized, fun, and a pleasure to be with. I can't thank her enough for all her hard work, enthusiasm.  Her mother Pat Horn is a long time rug hooker also. She is also a wealth of knowledge and a heart of gold.
This is Suzi Jones and her rug at another camp. Yes I stole this picture from somewhere on the internet.

I also want to mention how wonderful EVERYONE in Assumption Abbey were. Every Monk I met was so fun. They go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and the food was unbelievably wonderful. Every single meal was so special and even the breaks had fresh baked cookies, quick breads, and once we even had sticky buns.

I would like to lie and say I forgot my camera, but I didn't. I just didn't take pictures with it. I took pictures of people, just not rugs. I know, what was I thinking?! Obviously, I wasn't. I didn't even take any with my phone. So the next pictures are ones Patty Tyrrell, my traveling partner, room mate, and good friend took.
 This is one hooked by Michele Wise. It is a McGown pattern that she changed the background on.
 
Carolyn Godfread designed and hooked this stunning rug. She is an absolute blast to sit next to the whole week.
 

 The one on the right is hooked by Pat Horn. She used the tan windowpane that I use to over dye and can sell on our website for the entire background. She said that even non-rug hookers comment on her background.
 
 Another rug hooked by Pat Horn and I think the design is by Jojolee Designs. I could be wrong with that name.
 
Sue Cunningham hooked this one . She was a blast to sit next to too. In fact she is another Wyoming girl! She lives in Laramie.

 Brother Lluellyn Kouba hooked this outstanding masterpiece and was working on another equally beautiful rug. In fact he has done a few. He paints and is an amazing potter for the Abbey. He was such a pleasure to meet, as were all the Monks.
 
 This adorable doll is by  Michele Wise. She is just so creative!!
 
So this is just a little about my adventure. I certainly hope to go back next year!

Tuesday, July 16, 2013

What I Love About Aurifil Lana Wool Thread

So many times, I'm asked what I love about Auriful Lana Wool Thread. Even though I think it's an easy answer, it is actually a long answer. If I could only answer in a few words they would have to be Quality, Consistency, Value, and Variety of Colors.

Working with Aurifil Lana Wool Thread on wool is so amazing. The wool thread just melts into the wool. It can either be hidden using an applique stitch, or show beautifully in a button hole stitch. The weight of the Lana Wool is perfect for all things applique with wool, whether a penny rug or a quilt.

With all the colors Aurifil has available in the Lana Wool Thread it is so easy to match any project I am working on. The Lana Wool Thread blends so beautifully with any wool.  I wish I had every color available in the Aurifil Lana Wool, but there are SO many!

I mentioned Quality. With all Aurifil threads, the quality is always the highest of any on the Market. I have never had one single problem and I have sewn hundreds of quilts with Aurifil thread. I have even machine quilted with the Lana Wool Thread using a size 100 needle. My threads never break, twist, or bunch up. When sewing by hand it glides through my projects like butter.

And then there is Value. At first glance Aurifil seems like it might be pricier than other threads but in reality it is a much better value. I made a white works quilt once that used barely over 1 spool of Aurifil 50 wt cotton thread. I estimated it would have taken over 30 spools of the other brand of thread I was using before switching to Aurifil.  So at first it seemed like it was more expensive but in the long run I saved a fortune. The thread is finer, even though it is the same weight, and you can get more on a bobbin than any other 50 wt thread.  Even with the Lana Wool Thread, I can use one spool and many many projects and never run out of thread. With all the wool applique I have done, I have only had to replace one spool of green because I ran out, and believe me, that's a lot of projects! Simply, you get what you pay for.

Aurifil Thread is Consistent. In all the hundreds of spools of Aurifil thread I have owned, and I have 50 wt. cotton for quilting and sewing, 12 wt. cotton for hand embroidery, and Lana Wool for my wool projects, I have never had one bad spool of thread. I never have to worry about knots and big chunks in the thread. Oh, and speaking of knots...when I do my hand work, it doesn't twist up and knot like other brands do.

Basically, the short answer to why I love Aurifil Lana Wool Thread is that it is PERFECT!



Monday, July 8, 2013

.~Woolin Rouge Color Palette Of The Week.~

 
“Growing into your future with health and grace and beauty doesn’t have to take all your time.
  It rather requires a dedication to caring for yourself as if you were rare and precious, which you are, and regarding all life around you as equally so, which it is.  ~Victoria Moran

Find these delicious colors here: www.woolinrouge.com

Wednesday, July 3, 2013

No Mojo Today

Poor Mark Lipinski is sick today so our interview with him is canceled until August 7th. So, we have no Creative Mojo today.

Traci and I did, however, have a creative morning. We worked on a new design series that I can't wait to show everyone. It will BEE so fun!

Thank you so much for your support! 

Saturday, June 29, 2013

.~Woolin Rouge Color Palette of the Week.~

“I must have flowers, always, and always.”
                                                 ― Claude Monet


The luscious colors above can be found at www.woolinrouge.com

Friday, June 28, 2013

.~ Setting Sail.~


“In a spirit of hope and new beginnings, we linked arms like a couple of kids. Pushing aside sad thoughts, we strode off into our future.”   A.B. Shepherd



Traci Here: Sylvia and are just beginning our adventure and we are so excited about the path before us.  As of lately, Sylvia's been dying wool and I've been marketing it.

We have many quilt shops that are interested.
If all goes as planned, hopefully, you will be able to walk into your local quilt shop and see Woolin Rouge's Signature Wool in person!

One thing that is very important to Sylvia and I is that brick and mortar quilt shops stay in  business.

We encourage you to support your local quilt shop.  One store that just picked up our signature wool line is Bella Quiltworks in Tucson, AZ.  Sylvia is dying wool for Joelee today and it should ship next week. Thank-you Bella Quiltworks!

You can also find our wool at Scrap Apple Quilts in St. George, UT
and Quilts & More in Sydney, MT

Inch by inch the snail reached the ark, right?

Other things in the works are classes.
I am now booking classes for 2013/2014.
If your quilt shop or guild is interested in having a Woolin Rouge Workshop,
please have them contact me at traci@woolinrouge.com

I thought of a very fun class just this morning.
It is called Wine, Woman and Wool!

What's it about?
Don't know yet,  but doesn't it sound so fun?

Two Very Special Upcoming Events!

#1. Mark Lipinski from Creative Mojo invited Woolin Rouge to be his guests on his radio show.
Save the Date! July 3rd, 2013. Show airs live from 3-5 EST.  If you miss the live show, no worries you can always hear it later on a podcast.


Listen in July 3rd, 2013
 
 
#2 Denise Russell from Pieced Brain is doing a blog interview with us.  She is also going to review our Humming Birdie pattern.  I encourage you to visit http://www.piecedbrain.com/ Denise does wonderful book reviews and tutorials.  Sylvia and I are honored that she is including us on her blog.
I will keep you posted as to when the article is up.
 
That is it for today.  I have a few computer related things to do other than that Friday is the day that I am to frolic in my art shack.  Wonder what new things will happen in there today!
 
Hope you have a magical day!
 
Warm & Wooly Regards From Sylvia & Traci

 

Thursday, June 27, 2013

.~Words, Textures, Photos.~

Traci Here: Three of my most favorite things in life are quotes, wool and photography. 
Look how lovely they all go together.
The wool pictured on the left is 112-2.
Click here 112-2 to see it up close and personal.
 

Monday, June 24, 2013

.~ Journey to Christmas.~

 
No great thing is created suddenly.
 
 
Bonjour!
 
Traci Here:
Over the weekend I was thinking about how quickly this year is going by.  I spent all of Sunday cleaning my house preparing for a 4th of July family gathering.  Really?  July 4th is just 10 days away!
 
If July 4th is only 10 days away, how many days until Christmas?
 
Want to know? Christmas is only 183 days away.  Now that might seem like a lot to many people, but if you are a person that likes to make handmade gifts for the folks on your Christmas list, it really puts things in perspective.  Now is the time to begin!
 
I have decided that this week I am going to begin my Journey to Christmas Checklist.
 
Here are some things that I will have on my list:
 
1. Write down names of who  want to create handmade gifts for this Christmas
2. By each name jot down a thought or an idea of what I would like to make for each person.
3. Create a realistic timeline.  How much time will it take to make each gift.
 
Example:
Journey to Christmas Checklist:
 
Name                                               Gift                                                                          Timeline 
Kerri                                    Wool Applique' Christmas Tree Skirt's                      Approx. 7 Days
Jami
 
Kerri and Jami are my two sister's. For Christmas I want to buy them both this little silk tree that I discovered on the Quality Silk's website.  Isn't it cute?
 
  
And then I want to create a mini wool appliqué' tree skirt that will go with. My idea is to take the applique's elements from the Star Light Snow Bright pattern and put them around the little tree skirt.
I think it will be adorable. 
 
And then for following Christmas' I can make them little Christmas ornaments to decorate with.
It will be the gift that keeps on giving year after year.
 
Now this sounds like a great idea right?  But will get this idea in the end zone?
 
                                                              I guess only time will tell!
 
What kind of handmade Christmas gifts will you be making this year?
  Love to hear from you!
 
Au revoir~
 
Traci
 
 
 

 
 

Saturday, June 22, 2013

Welcome To Woolin Rouge Review!


"Nature always wears the colors of the spirit."

Bonjour!

Traci Here~
It is official!
Sylvia and I finally have a website. Yes we do. Please visit www.woolinrouge.com to see not only our patterns, but the big news is...we now have our very own Woolin Rouge Signature wool palette.
Thanks to Sylvia.  She is the master Woolin Rouge wool dyer.  As for me? I am the master Woolin Rouge Wool promoter and appreciater.  Somehow I think I have the better end of the deal.

Sylvia has created 335 colors of wool for you to choose from.  The colors are so rich they look like they should have calories!

Today I decided that I was going to begin a color of the week promotion.
I will be using one of my photographs as a muse to create a new color combination.
Here is the photograph and colors I chose for this weeks promotion:

 
 
Sylvia and I are very excited about new designs that we have on our drawing board.  We are especially excited now that we can create with our own signature palette. Hope you visit our website www.woolinrouge.com.  If you do make sure to sign the guestbook.  Oh and sign up for our newsletter too!
 
I am off to my Art Shack to work on a mug rug design that I am creating for an All About Applique tutorial.  I dreamt about the design last night in my sleep.  Now let's see if I can recreate it! 
 
Au revoir!